Paper Pi Handheld

by a8ksh4 · Hard · manifest draft — being verified

An e-paper Raspberry Pi 4 handheld built around a thumb-operated hand-wired keyboard, battery power and a custom printed shell.

The creator built Paper Pi as a practical terminal for learning console tools, keyboard firmware and enclosure design. Its README documents the working machine and a useful parts list, while also acknowledging that several components and the Ubuntu setup were not captured precisely.

Original: github.com

Parts

QtyPartBuy
1×Raspberry Pi 4 Model B
README Parts List specifies a Raspberry Pi 4 with 2GB RAM.
PiShop.us PiShop.us Amazon (budget)
1×Waveshare 4.2-inch E-Ink Display
README Parts List specifies a Waveshare 4.2-inch E-Ink Display; exact revision is not stated.
Waveshare Amazon (budget)
1×6mm surface-mount soft-touch push-button switch
Keyboard subsection names 6mm-square surface-mount soft-touch switches; quantity and model are not stated.
DigiKey
1×Small perfboard
Keyboard subsection names small perfboards; dimensions and quantity are not stated.
Adafruit
1×Signal diode
Keyboard subsection names signal diodes; model and quantity are not stated.
DigiKey
1×2.54mm pin header
Keyboard subsection names 2.54mm pins; format and quantity are not stated.
SparkFun
1×Paper Pi keyboard microcontroller (unspecified)
Keyboard subsection says “Supermecro Controller”; exact board cannot be confirmed.
SparkFun
1×Precision pins and sockets (creator calls them “Micro Swiss”)
Keyboard subsection says “Micro Swiss pins and sockets”; exact product and quantity cannot be confirmed.
DigiKey
1×6mm tactile push button
GPIO/Power Controls names generic 6mm clicky buttons; quantity is not stated.
Adafruit
1×IM232 6-pin slide switch
GPIO/Power Controls names an IM232 six-pin slide switch.
DigiKey
1×10kΩ resistor
GPIO/Power Controls names 10kΩ pull-up resistors; quantity and package are not stated.
DigiKey
4×Approximately 3Ah 18650 cells
Battery subsection specifies four used approximately 3Ah 18650 cells matched for capacity and internal resistance.
Adafruit
1×RetroPSU battery power module
Battery subsection names RetroPSU for charging and 5V output; revision is not stated.
Tindie (budget)
1×1S 3.7V 4A 18650 charger/protection board
Battery subsection names an Anmbest five-pack of 1S 3.7V 4A 18650 charger/BMS boards; the build quantity is not explicit.
Amazon (budget)
1×Nickel battery-welding strip
Battery subsection names nickel strip; dimensions and quantity are not stated.
DigiKey
1×USB-C breakout board
Battery subsection names a USB-C breakout; exact board is not stated.
SparkFun
1×PLA filament 1.75mm
README names PLA filament without brand, color or quantity.
Micro Center
1×Thin stranded insulated hookup wire
README names wire without gauge or quantity; this reuses the existing generic hookup-wire entry.
Adafruit Amazon (budget)
1×Polyimide tape
README names polyimide tape without width or quantity.
DigiKey
1×#2-28 × 1/4-inch Plastite-style screws
README names #2-28, 1/4-inch “Plastec” screws; quantity and head style are not stated.
Mouser

Printed parts

Notes

Official README checked on 2026-10-21. Kept as draft because several required component models and quantities are unspecified, the keyboard-controller name is ambiguous, and the public CAD model has no stated license.

The BuildDeck dispatch

A weekly email of new build manifests and parts deals is coming soon.